Friday Stuff

I got a call from my oncologist’s office that the Dexa scan came back in the normal range. Yay, one less thing to think about. Kinda a relief.

Today we’re off to chemo day 2, and B needs a blood transfusion as his Hemoglobin was down to 7.4. I am so hoping that the chemo kicks in soon and he will need less peripheral support( transfusions). Realistically though it could be 2-3 weeks.

Then I’m coming home to do some tidying and laundry. My son, who gets off at 4: 30, is going to pick up his Dad so I don’t have to go back out. That’ll be nice.

 

I’m making pizza for dinner and have the dough made and is doing a rise. I thought I’d do a simple marguerite one and then an Italian sausage and mushroom one.

The no spend January sorta fizzled out as I went to Target yesterday. Well, I got cat food but also a candle and a faux eucalyptus branch made by Hearth and Home which is the Magnolia line. I’ve been buying fresh eucalyptus at Trader Joes but haven’t been there in quite a while. So I thought these would do nicely as a substitute. I shall keep focused on the No spend but things may sneak in here and there and I’m keeping track of that. For me just bringing awareness into what I’m spending money on is an eye-opener.  But since I don’t go out for coffees a lot or buy clothes, the main thing I spend on is household items. So that’s all good as long as the budget is there.

If you’re a Dracula fan, I just finished ‘Dracul’ which is written by the great grand nephew of Bram Stoker.  It was superb!!!

Well, off to town.

 

 

 

Here in soggy California

So still raining, but today is supposed to be sunny and then back to rain. UGhhhh, I really do get sick of it. Plus the yard looks rather sad and really needs some picking up. I did clear off the patio the other day as it looked like everything had been tossed on the patio table in hopes of someone tossing it. That turned out to be me. It all still looks forlorn and I’m seriously thinking of hitting up Home Depot for some kind of winter flower or plant to spruce it up. Anything to bring a little cheer to the front door area. Our entry is weird enough that the front door is on the side of the house and we have a gate from where we park cars that we walk thru so the angle is always weird. Plus the patio is right there and that adds to the visual clutter.  The original front door was where the porch was that we rebuilt and enclosed when we were remodeling. It’s all done with 2x 6s so it’s code but it wasn’t in our final.  I suppose if we ever were to sell we’d need to do something but that’s neither here nor there yet.  so that door which was the main door also was placed weird that it faced the lawn that was there and not a driveway either.  So now that door goes into the front room and the other room is my office. But originally that was daughters room. It’s actually quite cozy with french doors on one end. The floor is wide planked pine that B put down over the concrete floor that was there.  I suppose if we ever had money a proper remodel would be nice.

Anyway, enough rattling on about that.

So far this week, we’ve had the oncologists/hematologists appt and that went well. She took pictures of poor B’s mouth. We asked for a pain prescription and about other stuff and she was very thorough. From the second BMB, there were no other FISH (genetic anomalies). So it looks like it’s the 7 q deletion plus excessive blasts( that’s the bad part). She’s also hoping that after this second round of chemo the good cells will start winning over the bad cells but that remains to be seen.  He had another transfusion on Monday and starts chemo today. So the next 5 days will be constant. Hopefully, though, it will go smoothly. His counts are so low that risk of infection is there. So far he’s done fine except for the mouth sores.

I had my DEXA scan and shall see how the bones are in a week or so. Honestly, who cares at this point if I’m pre-osteoporosis.  Or maybe it’s there already.  I would just have to see what the doctor says about what to do with medicine.  Because I’ve had so much Aredia and Zometa, that can actually affect the bones sometimes in a negative way after years of treatment. So we’ll see.

I finished watching the ‘Tidying up with Marie Kondo’ and it was really fun to watch. Amazingly, B did all his clothes, which were not a lot, but still, his drawers and closet look absolutely great!!! If you can watch it, I’d highly recommend it. I do think there are other methods of decluttering that are just as good or for some better. Some people do room by room and that works too. I think because I had done so much decluttering starting with Fly Lady, that when I got to Marie Kondo’s method it wasn’t overwhelming. But if you haven’t, I could see getting out every book you own would be daunting.

So off to the gym today, drop B off at infusion and then go get chicken food.

Last night I made a Thai Chicken soup and it was delicious.  If you have leftover chicken and a can of coconut milk, I’d highly recommend it.

 

Simple Sunday

So far the no-spend month is going fine. I’ve been to the store a few times but nothing extra. I need to go to Costco this week for TP and some fruit and greens for the Vitamix but that’s all(I think).  I’d like to hold off as much as possible but I’ll be down in Roseville on Wednesday for a Dexa scan. So, that maybe when I go.

Things have been rainy and windy here. It looks like the next 10 days are rained filled. I walked this morning and it was quite lovely and it only started sprinkling when I left.

I made a yummy split pea and ham soup last night. I didn’t make a vegetarian one as B isn’t eating much. Once again, I made him some scrambled eggs.  I don’t make Split pea often and this one turned out quite delicious. There’s some to freeze and maybe lunch today.

Tonight I’m making chicken parmesan and some pasta. No salad as I bought a clamshell pack at Grocery Outlet and it was all funky so I gave it to the chickens.

This week is the kitchen zone. So I’ll start that today. Plus it is sheet day. We only have one set of sheets so I wash and dry them and put them back on the bed on Sundays. I am going to get some new sheets but just not sure when. I was waiting for Target to put the linen/cotton blend on sale but so far haven’t seen it.

This week is full of appts which I do not like. But they are necessary and B starts his next round of chemo on Thursday so that means out every.single.day.  I’m sure my daughter and son will help with the driving when they can.

 

Oh geez, I forgot to update about my damn birth certificate. They returned it (after 6 weeks) REJECTED because the second page of the decree was not included. The clerk had told me, it wasn’t generally ever asked for. Plus they wanted our original certified marriage license WTF I don’t know.  This has been one of the biggest BS things I have ever been thru. So on a whim, I drove down to Roseville to the justice center and expected to wait hours till I could get to the recorders window. Much to my surprise, I sat down after taking the ticket, and I was called in about 2 minutes. I told the clerk what I needed and she said sure. She said it’s rare anyone cares about the second page. So I got what I needed, came home went to the post office to get Priority envelopes (again) and loaded it up and sent it off. I would hope this does it but I’ll keep you updated(probably in another 6 weeks???) What a PITA…..

Well, off to the kitchen zone…

 

No Spend January

I’m going to do a no spend month. If you’d like to do it too, it’s pretty easy.

Basically, you don’t buy anything non-essential. Food, pet supplies, household stuff is allowed but no extra stuff.

HDT quote

I plan on not buying anything from Amazon.  If I need something such as Rid-X which I do get from Amazon, I’ll just either wait or go to Home Depot. So, no clothes, coffees out unless we use a gift card.  We do have a Panera one that maybe when B feels better we can go.

I’ve done this before and it really does make one aware of the things that money is spent on.  Generally, I don’t buy a lot of extra stuff but still, there is some.  I didn’t ever feel I saved money per se, but it did make me more aware of where I spent money.

On another note, I’m almost done with the SDI form so we will do that soon. There are a few things were not clear about but overall it is straightforward. I think this will take us thru the transplant and then after that, we will need to do something else.

On a fun note, if you have Netflix, there is the new MarieKondo series called Tidying up. I’ve watched 2 and it was fun. She is a really sincere person and I like her approach. It’s definitely worth watching.

Today is a gym day, but I’m not feeling great(probably stress) so I’ll just do some weights. There is the Koffee Klatch lunch but I’ll probably skip that too even though I’d like to go.

Dinner is unknown…

 

2019, here we come…

It was a quiet new years evening. We watched a few funny movies. Abbott and Costello meet Frankenstein which is hilarious and then Tremors which is also funny weird.  We had sub sandwiches which were yummy. Poor B had scrambled eggs as that’s about all he can eat right now plus pudding. I really hope these mouth sores resolve themselves soon.

Today, I walked predawn and the moon and Jupiter are quite near each other. If you’re up before dawn take a look. It’s pretty. I love crescent moons as I think of ‘priestess’ things from days gone.

Today is a day home. I need to do a load of laundry and just tidy up.  Tonight I’m making black beans in the crockpot and then a couple of tacos for me and my daughter. I’ll make something soft for B to eat.

Tomorrow I’m going to the gym with probably everybody and their mothers and their grandmothers etc. etc… the gym is always packed this time of year. It’ll slow down in a few months and the regulars that make it will keep going.

I also have a dental cleaning first in the morning.

I’ve worked out a budget for January and I will do a no- spend month and keep groceries at a minimum.  With the possibility of medical bills coming in, I’m not sure what those expenses will be yet.

1167451777d06c35d1fb422de7cb25fc